Communism: The Highest Form of Democracy

Communism: the Highest Form of Democracy

TO MEMBERS OF THE CENTRAL COMMITTEE OF THE WORKERS REVOLUTIONARY PARTY IN NAMIBIA (WRP)

 Date: 15 January 1993mBy: ATTIE BEUKES

Dear Comrades,

 In 1990, shortly before my illness, I had tentatively begun to develop a few theoretical conclusions with the aim of contributing to certain issues confronting us today, both in the Workers International, as well as globally. Due to a number of reasons, however, I could not manage to sit down and get myself to write a few lines on each of these individual – although connected – themes. Now that I have slowly resumed with the objective I had set for myself more than two years ago, I am forwarding to each of you the following sub-headings (outlined below), meant to focus the skeleton of the short pamphlet.

 By studying the themes, you ought to notice (if I am not too unclear) that the contents of my pamphlet will not necessarily agree with theoretical conclusions on a number of crucial issues as set forth by the Executive Committee of the Workers International. On the contrary, I do regard the larger part of contributions in my pamphlet as being, in many a case, theoretically the exact opposite to what is and had been offered by the said Executive Committee, so far. It must be mentioned here that one of my differences with the analysis put forward by our Executive Committee is that, in essence the thinking pattern of our Executive body in my opinion, fundamentally and persistently refuses to take cognisance of the great powers with which the dialectic influences and redirects theory itself.

It is true scientifically that the dialectic does not replace analysis. It cannot of course; but no materialistic thinker, especially no Marxist, can for a single moment deny or forget with what great influential and persuasive powers the dialectic does indeed guide analysis … and it guides analysis this way at every given moment, and at all times … permanently. But let us leave it there for the time being. I do realise of course, that I need to elaborate on these opening remarks – a task which I will carry out in my pamphlet, extensively. In the process I will also touch upon related and other issues of disagreement with the Executive Committee’s analysis I have on my part.

 For now, however, let me return to my letter to you and the specific purpose thereof. The title of my short pamphlet I have chosen to be: ” Communism: the Highest Form of Democracy “. This decision I have taken to try to enable the title itself to correspond with the ongoing social developments of the present phase of our epoch. These ongoing social developments unquestioningly and irreversibly signal and underline the revolutionary character of our epoch, and primarily our central task as social critics, I think, therefore is to whip our own thinking in line with these objective developments.

 This and this alone will start to address and dialectically resolve the long continuing crises of leadership in the entire International Proletarian Movement. In any case, since titles, subheadings, etc., of any intended or finished theoretical work in my opinion, indeed most accurately indicate whether or not such work is truly based on a scientific and coherent premise; the purpose of my forwarding these few lines to you is precisely to enable you to comment on it and to produce suggestions that will enable this pamphlet to see the light. So, I am really looking forward to your response eagerly, urgently and with an open mind. But enough said. Following are some of the ideas I have in mind which I intend to expand upon systematically and in due course.

 A. THE PRESENT-DAY ECONOMIC SIGNIFICANCE OF THE 1917 SOCIAL REVOLUTION.

 B. THE POLITICAL SLOGAN OF KARL MARX AND FRIEDRICH ENGELS: ” Workers of the world, unite!” is rapidly getting its economic foundation for the first time in history.

 C. RISE OF AN INTERNATIONAL DEMOCRATIC MOVEMENT: A historical prerequisite for both social and political revolutions, worldwide.

 D. DEMOCRATIC CENTRALISM: The scientifically tested Bolshevik-Leninist formula to build the Revolutionary Party, has in the present phase of our epoch, historically become the sole formula (method) to build every future Communist society globally.

 E. HOW THE CRISES OF LEADERSHIP WILL BE RESOLVED, and the regeneration of the Fourth International be made possible.

 F. NAMIBIA, THE LAST COLONY OF AFRICA HAD HISTORICALLY PRODUCED THE FIRST TROTSKYIST PARTY IN AFRICA: This subjective leap in an extremely backward country no doubt is bound to contribute significantly if not largely or entirely in providing the world with a new International revolutionary leadership, capable of carrying through its historical task.

 POSTS CRIPT: 20 JANUARY 1993. Should anyone of you for one or the other scientific reason however conclude (based on the written information at your disposal), that my intended pamphlet could not be regarded as an analytical piece of work, the sooner you let me know, preferably in writing, the sooner it will enable me to resume Marxist studies. This time to master it once and for all!

NB: Handed in for typing and proofreading for the purpose of distribution amongst members of the Central Committee on 8 February 1994.

 

 

Leave a Reply

